Best AI Music Generators in 2026: Ranked by What You Can Legally Use

Best AI Music Generators in 2026: Ranked by What You Can Legally Use

By Aisha Patel, AI Editorial Desk · September 16, 2026 · 13 min read

Updated September 16, 2026
Quick Answer

The best AI music generator for you depends on what you will do with the output, because commercial rights now vary more than audio quality. Read from vendor pages on 15 September 2026: ElevenLabs says its music model was built in partnership with artists, labels and publishers, and grants commercial use from its $6 Starter plan, though Starter excludes streaming distribution and the free tier is personal use only. AIVA keeps copyright of your compositions on its Free and Standard plans and transfers full copyright to you only on Pro, at €33 a month billed yearly plus VAT. Soundraw says its model is trained only on music written and recorded by its own producers. Suno grants commercial rights on paid plans, caps downloads at 20 or 60 songs a month, and gives free-tier users no commercial rights; its download limits follow its November 2025 settlement with Warner Music Group, while Sony and Universal were reported to be continuing litigation against it. Udio sells song generation at the same $10 and $30 monthly prices, but its pricing page does not state commercial rights or download terms. None of this is legal advice.

The feature that matters is the licence

Most comparisons of AI music generators still rank on sound: vocals, genre range, song length. In 2026 that is the wrong first question. What you are legally allowed to do with the track now varies far more between tools than the audio does, and on most free tiers the answer is not much.

The reason is the lawsuits and settlements of the last year. Major labels sued the best-known generators over their training data, settled with some, and kept litigating against others. The settlements changed products directly, down to how many songs you can download. So this guide ranks tools by how clearly they document commercial rights, and what those rights actually are.

How we compared

We read each vendor's pricing and licensing pages on 15 September 2026. Where we describe settlements or litigation, we cite reporting from Billboard and Forbes. We did not generate tracks or judge audio quality. The ranking reflects clarity and breadth of documented rights, not sound. This is not legal advice.

Rights at a glance

ToolFree tier rightsCheapest commercial tierCopyrightTraining data claim
---------------
ElevenLabs MusicPersonal use onlyStarter, $6/mo (no streaming)Rights vary by tierBuilt in partnership with artists, labels, publishers
AIVANon-commercial, credit AIVAStandard, €11/mo yearly (limited platforms)Yours only on ProNot stated on pricing page
SoundrawNot stated on pricing pageCreator, from $5.99/moWorldwide commercial licenceTrained only on in-house catalogue
SunoNo commercial rightsPro, $10/mo or $8 yearlyCommercial rights on paid plansLicensed models promised for 2026
UdioNot stated on pricing pageNot stated on pricing pageNot stated on pricing pageLicensed platform announced for 2026

1. ElevenLabs Music — Best for licensed tracks at scale

Best for: marketers, video producers and developers who need music for ads, branded content and apps, with rights spelled out per plan.

ElevenLabs states that its music model was "built in partnership with artists, labels, and publishers" and that generated tracks are "cleared for broad commercial use," with commercial rights varying by subscription tier. It is the most explicit licensing posture of the tools we checked.

  • Free: $0, about 3 to 5 tracks a month, personal use only.
  • Starter: $6 a month, about 8 to 16 tracks, commercial use without streaming, extra minutes at $0.18.
  • Creator: $22 a month ($11 for the first month), about 34 to 67 tracks, commercial use excluding enterprise, 2 and 4 stems.
  • Pro: $99 a month, about 167 to 333 tracks, commercial use excluding enterprise, up to 6 stems.
  • Credits: music draws from the same credit pool as the rest of the ElevenLabs platform. Prices exclude taxes.

Limitations: Starter's commercial licence excludes streaming, so releasing songs to streaming services requires a higher tier. Music shares a credit pool with voice features, so heavy voice use reduces music output. "Cleared for broad commercial use" is the vendor's characterisation; read the terms for anything high-stakes.

Best for: composers and businesses that need to own the composition, not just licence it.

AIVA is the clearest tool here on ownership, because its pricing page states who owns the copyright on each plan.

  • Free: €0, copyright owned by AIVA, non-commercial use only, credit to AIVA required, 3 downloads a month, tracks up to 3 minutes.
  • Standard: €11 a month plus VAT billed yearly, copyright owned by AIVA, monetization limited to YouTube, Twitch, TikTok and Instagram, 15 downloads a month, tracks up to 5 minutes.
  • Pro: €33 a month plus VAT billed yearly, copyright owned by you, full monetization, 300 downloads a month, tracks up to 5 minutes 30 seconds, WAV export.

Limitations: only Pro transfers copyright, so Standard is a platform-limited licence rather than ownership. Prices are quoted in euros excluding VAT with yearly billing, so the true cost depends on your location, and we did not confirm monthly-billing rates.

Best for: creators who need royalty-free background tracks for videos, podcasts and apps with minimal training-data risk.

Soundraw's distinguishing claim is its training data. It says its AI "learns only from" a catalogue of music its own producers write and record, "never scraped from other artists," and that every track carries a worldwide licence for commercial use.

  • Creator: listed at $5.99 a month for content creators, with unlimited MP3 downloads.
  • Artist Starter: listed at $10.49 a month for music artists and producers, with 10 MP3 downloads a month.
  • Artist Pro: listed at $12.59 a month with 20 downloads a month in MP3, WAV and stems.
  • Artist Unlimited: listed at $17.49 a month with unlimited downloads in MP3, WAV and stems.
  • Company size: these plans are for individuals and companies with fewer than 10 employees; larger organisations use an Enterprise plan on request, which includes API access.

Limitations: the pricing table lists using tracks as background music and distributing songs to Spotify and Apple Music as separate rights, so confirm which one your plan includes before releasing anything. The page offers annual and monthly billing, and we could not confirm which rate the listed prices reflect. Businesses with 10 or more employees cannot use the self-serve plans. The in-house training claim is the vendor's own statement.

4. Suno — Best for full songs with vocals, on a paid plan

Best for: creators who want complete songs with lyrics and vocals and will pay for commercial rights.

Suno is the best-known name in the category, and the one whose product has been most directly shaped by litigation.

  • Free: $0, 50 credits a day, no commercial rights.
  • Pro: $8 a month billed yearly, 2,500 credits a month, commercial rights, 20 song downloads a month.
  • Premier: $24 a month billed yearly, 10,000 credits a month, commercial rights, 60 song downloads a month, and access to Suno Studio.
  • Billing: the page says yearly billing saves 20 percent, $24 and $72 a year respectively, which implies month-to-month prices of $10 and $30. Subscription credits do not roll over.

The download caps are new, and they have a cause. On 25 November 2025, Warner Music Group and Suno announced a partnership that settled Warner's lawsuit. Billboard's reporting describes Suno committing to launch licensed models in 2026 and to restrict downloads to paid accounts with monthly caps. Sony Music and Universal Music Group have not settled: Music Business Worldwide reports that Suno has asked the court to block their attempt to expand the case to more than 61,000 recordings.

Limitations: the download caps constrain anyone producing at volume, since generating songs and downloading them are now separately limited. Ongoing litigation from two major labels is a live legal risk that a subscription licence cannot resolve. Free-tier output has no commercial rights at all.

5. Udio — Best for trying song generation, with rights unstated

Best for: people experimenting with AI song generation who are not yet publishing or selling the results.

Udio still sells prompt-based song generation, at the same $10 and $30 monthly price points as Suno. What its pricing page does not do is say anything about commercial use, copyright or downloads, which on the axis this guide ranks by places it last.

  • Free: $0, with 10 credits a day and 100 a month without rollover, up to 4 songs generating at once, and a limit of 3 full-length songs of 2 minutes 10 seconds a day.
  • Standard: $10 a month, or $8 a month billed annually at $96 a year. 2,400 credits a month without rollover, 2-minute songs without the daily limit, up to 6 songs at once, and editing tools including voice control, lyric editing, generation from uploaded audio and style references.
  • Pro: $30 a month, or $24 a month billed annually at $288 a year. 6,000 credits a month, up to 10 songs at once, and every feature.
  • Currency: prices are offered in US dollars, pounds and euros, and the page notes tax rates vary by location.

The service is also changing. Universal Music Group and Udio announced a settlement in October 2025 together with agreements for a new licensed AI music creation platform, and Warner Music Group settled with Udio in November 2025 with a licensing deal for a platform set to launch in 2026.

Limitations: the pricing page does not state commercial rights, copyright ownership or download terms for any plan, so read Udio's terms of service before using a track anywhere public. Standard's higher credit allowance and unlimited 2-minute generation are marked as not included in free trials. With licensed platforms promised under both label deals, the current terms may change.

Can you trust a vendor's commercial licence?

A licence from a vendor tells you what that vendor permits. It does not guarantee the model behind it was trained lawfully, which is precisely what labels have litigated, and it may not protect you if a court later decides otherwise.

That is why training-data claims deserve as much attention as plan features. Soundraw's in-house catalogue and ElevenLabs' stated partnerships with rights holders are, on their face, stronger positions than a model whose training data is the subject of active lawsuits. For anything commercially significant, such as a broadcast campaign, a released album or a sync placement, get legal advice on the specific terms. Our overview of what generative AI is and how it learns explains why training data is the pressure point.

Which should you choose?

If you make ads, branded video or apps and need clear commercial rights: ElevenLabs Music, choosing a tier that includes streaming if you plan to release tracks.

If you need to own the composition outright: AIVA Pro, the only plan here that states copyright is yours.

If you need background music with the lowest training-data risk: Soundraw, whose model is trained only on its in-house catalogue.

If you want complete songs with vocals: Suno on a paid plan, accepting the download caps and the litigation risk.

If you only want to experiment before paying: Udio's free tier allows three full-length songs a day, but read its terms before using any track publicly.

If you need voice rather than music: that is a different comparison, covered in our AI voice model showdown. For presenter-led video to pair with your soundtrack, see our AI avatar video generators guide.

Conclusion

AI music generation stopped being a pure technology contest in 2026 and became a licensing one. The settlements with Suno and Udio changed products directly, and the tools that document rights most clearly now offer the most useful answer to a buyer's first question.

On the evidence we could verify, ElevenLabs has the most explicit licensing posture, AIVA is the only tool that transfers copyright, Soundraw has the cleanest training-data claim, Suno makes full songs with vocals under download caps and active legal risk, and Udio sells similar generation at the same prices without stating rights on its pricing page. Pick on what you need to do with the track, then on sound.

This comparison is an editorial synthesis of vendor pricing and licensing pages read on 15 September 2026 and linked from each heading, and reporting on label settlements and litigation from Billboard, Forbes, TechCrunch and Music Business Worldwide, plus Universal Music Group's own announcement. We did not generate music, assess audio quality, or receive briefings from these vendors, and we have no commercial relationship with any of them. Settlement and litigation details are attributed to that reporting. Udio pricing was read from its pricing page on 16 September 2026. This is not legal advice; verify terms before commercial use.

Key Takeaways

  • For AI music, commercial rights now matter more than sound quality. Free tiers at ElevenLabs, AIVA and Suno do not grant commercial use.
  • ElevenLabs states its music model was built in partnership with artists, labels and publishers. Commercial use starts on its $6 Starter plan, but Starter excludes streaming distribution.
  • AIVA is the only tool here that explicitly transfers copyright to you, and only on its Pro plan at €33 a month billed yearly plus VAT. On Free and Standard, AIVA owns the copyright.
  • Soundraw says its model learns only from music its own producers write and record, which is the most direct answer to training-data risk in this comparison.
  • Suno's paid plans cap downloads at 20 or 60 songs a month. The caps follow its November 2025 settlement with Warner Music Group, and Sony and Universal were reported to be continuing litigation.
  • Suno's page lists $8 and $24 a month with yearly billing, saving 20 percent, which implies month-to-month prices of $10 and $30.
  • Commercial rights granted by a vendor settle your contract with that vendor. They do not answer every downstream copyright question, especially where training data is being litigated.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can I use AI-generated music commercially?

Usually only on a paid plan. On the vendors we checked, Suno's free tier grants no commercial rights, ElevenLabs' free tier is personal use only, and AIVA's free plan is non-commercial with credit required. Paid tiers grant commercial use, but the scope differs, including whether streaming distribution is allowed.

Which AI music generator lets me own the copyright?

Of the tools we verified, AIVA states it most explicitly. Its Pro plan, at €33 a month billed yearly plus VAT, says the copyright is owned by you with full monetization. On AIVA's Free and Standard plans, the page states that AIVA owns the copyright of compositions created.

Why does Suno limit downloads?

Suno's paid plans now include 20 or 60 song downloads a month. Reporting on its November 2025 settlement with Warner Music Group described commitments to launch licensed models in 2026 and restrict downloads to paid accounts with monthly caps. Credits in its subscriptions also do not roll over between months.

Is AI-generated music safe from copyright claims?

Not automatically. A vendor licence governs what you may do under that vendor's terms, but it cannot guarantee a model's training data was lawfully sourced, which is exactly what major labels have litigated. Tools that train on licensed or in-house catalogues reduce that risk; they do not remove the need for legal advice.

What happened to Udio?

Universal Music Group settled with Udio in October 2025 and Warner Music Group followed in November 2025. Both deals were announced alongside plans for a new Udio platform built on licensed music, launching in 2026. Udio's current plans run from free to $30 a month, but its pricing page does not state commercial rights.

Can I release AI music on Spotify?

It depends on the plan. ElevenLabs lists its Starter plan as commercial use without streaming, with higher tiers adding broader rights, and Soundraw markets its Artist plans for distribution to Spotify and Apple Music. Check the specific plan's terms before distributing, because rights to use a track and rights to release it can differ.

About the Author

Aisha Patel avatar

Aisha Patel

AI Editorial Desk

AI Editorial Desk · Web3AIBlog

Aisha Patel is a pen name for our AI editorial desk. Posts under this byline are written and reviewed by our team of contributors with backgrounds in machine learning, large language models, AI infrastructure, and applied research. The desk covers frontier model releases, agent architectures, retrieval-augmented generation, on-device inference, and the engineering tradeoffs that matter when shipping AI in production. Every technical claim is verified against primary sources before publication.